top of page

What do I do all week?

Before I started maternity leave I always thought to myself 'I can't wait to have everyday off work, what am I going to do with myself?!' I knew I'd be looking after a little one but I didn't realise that weeks would go by and I'd look back and think 'where did that time go?' 'What have I actually been doing the last few weeks?!'.

So I’m trying to think about what a typical week with my little one usually consists of:

MONDAY we usually go to our local Baby sensory class (say hello to the sun)! My little one loves it and to be honest I really look forward to it! Usually food shopping follows where I try to avoid the middle isles in Aldi, I fail miserably and always end up buying so many things I don’t need.. but I have to have them! Everyone needs a multi screwdriver right?

TUESDAY ........ usually a free day!

WEDNESDAY we have a mummy gym class, my little one is obsessed with the bright lights and the fact I’m jumping around like a lunatic tends to keep him occupied!

THURSDAY we have our swimming lessons, I say ‘our’ because this is very much a lesson for both of us, I’m not very confident in water and it seems my little one is not a fan of this whole dunking malarkey either!

FRIDAY my mother in law or my sister have the day off so we tend to keep it free for them, they sometimes have my little one for a few hours so I can get some much needed housework done... sometimes that housework may turn into a bath or a nap, or even just sitting on the sofa staring at the tele.. you know.. just because I can!

If the weather allows we often go for an afternoon stroll around the block, mainly so my little one can have a nap (so he isn’t grumpy for when daddy gets home) and I can have some fresh air (peace and quiet).

At some point during the week we might have the odd pop to town and a usual meet up with my mummy friends for tea and cake! Yum.

THE WEEKEND, usually one day is working on the house (we’re doing it up at the moment) and then one day we spend it with daddy for family time and making memories!

So... my week no longer consists of working, seeing the girls, drinking, partying, going for meals and shopping, it’s all change.

But... instead the week (or weeks) fly by and at the end of every week I have nothing to show for it except a healthy little one, and usually a happy one at that!

To be honest I’m pretty proud of that and I'm going to enjoy every moment until I go back to work!


Like our facebook page below

Click here

  • Facebook Social Icon
bottom of page